SCHOLARSHIP APPEALS & ADVISORY COMMITTEE

2 **Revision Date:** Standing Committee, last revision March 2007 October 2023.

3 4

1

Purpose: To ensure uniform, consistent, and fair distribution of scholarship funds and to comply with the University policies and procedures for distributing these funds.

5 6

- 7 Membership: Voting membership shall consist of the Assistant Vice President for Enrollment
- 8 Services, one faculty member from each college to be selected by the Faculty Senate (At least
- 9 one faculty member shall be a Faculty Senator, but Faculty Senators should not hold a majority
- of faculty membership on the committee.), two professional non-faculty staff members selected
- by the Staff Congress and two students selected by the Student Government Association. Non-
- voting members shall be the Director of Budgets, Director of Financial Aid, the Honors Program
- Director, and the Assistant Director for Scholarships. The selected faculty and staff members
- shall serve two-year terms with no more than one-half being replaced each year. Student
- members shall serve a one-year term.

16

- 17 **Duties & Responsibilities:** The committee shall serve as an appeals body for all University
- budgeted and privately funded scholarship recipients. To serve in an advisory capacity and
- 19 recommend policies and procedures pertaining to scholarship programs.
- 20 Officers: Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary to be selected by the committee from the
- 21 membership.
- 22 Frequency of Meetings: As Required. A majority of the work of this committee will be
- completed during the summer and periodically during each semester.
- 24 **Reporting Channels:** Recommendatory to the Vice President for Student Life Affairs.
- 25 Recommended changes in policies and procedures shall be reported to the Faculty Senate and
- 26 Staff Congress.
- 27 Minutes and Proposals Copied to: The Library, Faculty Senate, Student Government
- 28 Association, and Staff Congress.
- 29 Support Services: Office of Financial Aid, Office of Development, Office of Budgets.
- 30 MEMBERSHIP
- 31 The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to
- 32 the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty
- 33 member's Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson,
- 34 the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member's
- 35 Department Chair.

- Lisa Wallace, COS, 2022-24, CHAIR
- J. Kevin Adkins, COS, 2023-25, VICE CHAIR
- Sherry Stultz, COE, 2023-25, SECRETARY
- Eujin Kim, CBT, 2022-24
- Annette Hines, Prof/NF, 2023-2025
- Crystal Hall, Prof/NF, 2023-25
- Heidi Neal, Assistant VP, Enrollment Services, 2023-2025
- Denise Trusty, Director of Financial Aid, (non-voting)
- Jessica Cooper, Director of Budgets, (non-voting)
- Phil Krummrich, Honors Program Director, (non-voting)
- Tosha Binion, Asst. Director of Scholarships, (non-voting) 2023-2025
- VACANT, Student
- VACANT, Student
- * All 1-year terms end Aug. 15 of each fiscal year.