University Tenure Committee Minutes for 2022

According to the Personnel Action Calendar for the academic year, 2022-2023, The University Tenure Committee's official responsibilities began on November 4, 2022. At that time, the College Deans had evaluated the portfolios, delivered a copy of the written evaluation to the candidate, and forwarded a final recommendation and the tenure portfolios to the Provost who placed them in a secure area (HM 204) for review by the University Tenure Committee. The University Tenure Committee Members' access to the tenure portfolios began on November 7th and ended on November 18th, when The University Tenure Committee evaluated the portfolios, gave written evaluations along with the vote to the candidates with copies to the Provost.

The University Tenure Committee members reviewed the portfolios of ten candidates for tenure. Six of the candidates submitted their portfolios electronically and four of the candidates submitted their portfolios in tangible binders. The tenure portfolios that were provided in tangible binders were stored and reviewed in Howell McDowell 204. Committee members were asked to review all tenure portfolios for the ten candidates for tenure prior to the designated days/times reserved for the actual discussion of each candidate for tenure review. The committee reserved three dates to meet and review all candidates for tenure; however, only two dates were needed: Friday, November 11th 1:00 - 3:30pm and Monday, November 14th 4:00-6:30pm. One half of the candidates for tenure were reviewed in each of the meetings. During the committee meetings, all candidates for tenure and their respective tenure portfolios were discussed, letters for all tenure candidates were prepared and votes for all tenure candidates were taken and recorded on their respective tenure letters. On Friday, November 18th, all tenure letters were delivered personally to all candidates for tenure and copies of all tenure letters were placed in tenure portfolios as well as given to the Provost for his records.

All members of the committee attended every meeting. The following faculty served on the University Tenure Committee for the 2022-2023 academic year: Ignacio Birriel, Bernadette C. Barton, Verdie Craig, Kurt M. Gibbs, Nilesh N. Joshi, James Robert Masterson, Daryl R. Privott, Kimberlee Anne Sharp (Chair Elect for upcoming academic year), and Janet Ratliff (Chair for 2022-2023 academic year).