2018-2019 Morehead State University Faculty Senate Minutes – August 16, 2018 413 Combs Building

Call to Order: 3:45 p.m.

Senators: Ali Ahmadi, Mark Blankenbuehler, Robin Blankenship, Katy Carlson, Marshall Chapman, Jennifer Dearden, Anthony Dotson, Julia Finch, Wilson Gonzalez-Espada, Mark Graves, Jason Griffith, Dirk Grupe, Tim Hare, Patricia Harrelson, Jeffrey Hill, Jason Holcomb, Kouroush Jenab, Nilesh Joshi, Rebecca Katz, Thomas Kiffmeyer, <u>Euijin Kim</u>, Gary Lafleur, Lesia Lennex, David Long, Randy McCoy, Fatma Mohamed, ChienChih Peng, Jonathan Pidluzny*, Roma Prindle, Daryl R. Privott*, Edna Schack, Delar Singh*, Vijay Subramaniam, Suzanne Tallichet, Fujuan Tan, Craig Tuerk, Rodney Lee Watkins, Suzi White, Wesley Olin White

Senators Absent Are Underlined Above and an * Denotes an Excused Absence

Approval of Faculty Senate Minutes

Motion: To approve May 3, 2018 minutes.

Vote: Passed

Announcements:

- PAC-2 approved and signed by President Morgan
- UAR 331-01 regarding mass communication with faculty on President Morgan's desk
- Updated version of Support for Student Success on Senate Blackboard site
- Reminder to complete online Sexual Harassment Prevention Training
- Reminder of upcoming assessment reporting schedule

Two Resolutions Honoring Former Chair and Regent

Motion: To suspend first reading of a resolution honoring former Faculty Senate Chair Michael

Dobranski

Motion: To accept the resolution.

Vote: Passed.

Motion: To suspend first reading of a resolution honoring former Faculty Regent Royal

Dobranski

Motion: To accept the resolution.

Vote: Passed.

Report from the Provost Albert

- QEP Selection Team being developed. Timeline for white paper selection reviewed.
- New General Education work group being created. Tasks and timeline also reviewed.

Committee Reports from 2017-2018

- Governance: Check membership on standing committees; organizational meetings should be held by September 15.
- Evaluation: FEP review complete. All FEPs forwarded to Provost's Office. New routing form created.

2018-2019 Morehead State University Faculty Senate Minutes – August 16, 2018 413 Combs Building

Faculty Senate for 2017-2018 closed by Chair Tallichet. Faculty Senate for 2018-2019 opened by Chair Hare.

Elected Executive Council Members for 2018-2019

- Robin Blankenship (COS); Evaluations Committee
- Katy Carlson (CCHSS); Faculty Welfare and Concerns Committee
- Dirk Grupe (COS); Academic Issues Committee
- Nilesh Joshi (COB); Issues Committee
- Lesia Lennex (COE); Governance Committee
- Sue Tallichet will serve as Communications Officer

Faculty Senate Chair-elect for 2019-2020 is Dr. Lesia Lennex

Meeting Adjourned: 4:56pm

Minutes Taken By: Sue Tallichet for Barbara Willoughby, Faculty Senate Secretary

Next Regular Senate Meeting: August 30, 2018