AGENDA Excellence in Teaching Committee March 3, 2017 at 2:00 p.m. Center for Regional Engagement

Roll Call

Edna Schack, EDU ¹	Mesghena Yasin, BUS ¹	Karen Taylor, Distinguished Teacher ²
Janelle Hare, S&T ¹	Itza Zavala-Garrett, HUM	Stacy Baker, Distinguished Creative Production*1
Jennifer Little, Library	Janet McCoy, CLPD Director/Chair	David Eisenhour, Distinguished Researcher*

¹ Unable to attend—emailed recommendation regarding the request for an Educational Leave of Absence to Chair ² Unable to attend—on sabbatical/out of country

*Only required to participate and vote when applications for sabbaticals and educational leaves are reviewed.

Meeting Called to Order

Janet McCoy, Chair, called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

ORDER OF THE DAY

Educational Leave of Absence

Those present discussed the one application for an Educational Leave of Absence. The Chair shared a handout with the comments and votes regarding this matter from Stacy Baker, Janelle Hare, Edna Schack, and Mesghena Yasin. A final vote was take and the results were:

6 to support the leave 1 not to support the leave 1 person absent/sabbatical Chair, only votes to break a tie

The committee asked the chair to relay their concerns to Dr. Ralston regarding the following: (1) importance of the twoyear commitment to MSU after an educational leave has been completed—would have liked a stronger statement in the application packet on this matter; and (2) committee's preference to have application packets organized as suggested in the PowerPoint based on PAc-17 at: <u>http://www.moreheadstate.edu/Leadership/Center-for-Leadership-and-Professional-Development/Sabbatical-Leave-of-Absence</u>

OTHER BUSINESS

NOTE: Those in attendance could only discuss but not vote since there were not enough members present for a quorum.

Distinguished Teacher Award (DTA)

- TASK COMPLETE: All cloisonné pins have been delivered to the 2016 DTA nominees.
- Those present updated the committee on their classroom observations for the 2017 DTA.
- ACTION ITEMS All Committee Members
 - Jennifer Little suggested committee members <u>write a thank you note</u> to each nominee after the observation. It is a nice touch recognizing the hospitality of being a guest in the classroom.
 - Janet McCoy reminded everyone their <u>classroom observations</u> need to be <u>completed by Friday, April 21</u>.

Adjournment

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 2:40 p.m. She will send a <u>poll</u> to members to <u>identify a meeting date/time</u> to discuss and recommend the 2017 DTA award recipient to the Provost.