MSU Faculty and Staff:

The following are a few updates as we develop staffing plans for the upcoming 2023-2024 academic year.

Administrative Position Updates:

- Dr. Raj Parikh, Interim Provost, is scheduled to arrive to campus June 15/16th to begin working with a variety of people in academic affairs for a smooth transition.
- Dr. Chris Schroeder, current Chair of the Department of Mathematics, will serve as Interim Associate Provost of Academic Affairs and Student Success beginning in July. He will serve while a search is conducted during the 2023-2024 year.
- Dr. Ahmad Zargari has been promoted into the position of Dean of the College of Science beginning May 20.
- Dr. Eric Jerde will serve as Chair of the Department of Physics, Earth Science and Space Systems, as well as Associate Dean of the School of Engineering and Computer Science. During the course of the 2023-2024 year these two units will merge together into one department under a chair.

Caudill College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Reorganization:

• Dr. Sylvia Henneberg will serve as Interim Dean of the Caudill College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences.

We are also completing a reorganization of the Caudill College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences. The College has been operating for a number of years as three large "schools", and we have worked to move them into a more defined structure of five departments with each having their own department chair. Our hope is this will better reflect the disciplines within, as well as the overall organization and leadership. The units beginning July 1, 2023 will be:

- Department of Music, Theatre, and Dance led by Dr. David Oyen as Chair,
- Department of English and Modern Languages led by Dr. Katy Carlson as Interim Chair,
- Department of Communication, Media, Art, and Design led by Dr. Jeffrey Hill as Chair.

- Department of Sociology, Social Work, and Criminology led by Dr. Connie Hardesty as Chair,
- Department of History, Philosophy, Politics, Global Studies, and Legal Studies led by Dr. Jim Masterson as Chair,

Many thanks to each of these individuals.

Jay Morgan President