Faculty Senate Minutes April 5, 2012

Call to Order: Chair Sharp called the meeting to order at 4:16 pm; Riggle Room; ADUC

Senators Absent: Ritta Abell, J.T. Blackledge, Vincent Cesaro, John Hennen, Lesia Lennex, Gilbert

Remillard, Sandra Riegle, Yuqiu You

Minutes: The minutes of March 15, 2012 were approved as submitted.

Committee Reports:

Academic Issues: No Report

Evaluation: Student Course Evaluation Instrument to 2nd reading

Faculty Welfare and Concerns: PAc 29 1st reading

Governance: Governance committee has a slate of nominees for Standing Committees for next year and

two elections for the Planning Committee Senate Committee on Issues: No Report

Reports:

Chair's Report:

- Thanked the Senators for attending the special called meeting to complete PAc 27
- Talked about the revision of policies and faculty salaries

Provost's Report:

- Met with EC and Phil Gniot regarding the Faculty Salary Model and afterwards presented it to the Cabinet
- CPE will meet April 20 to set guidelines for tuition increases for next year
- MSU will present its budget proposal to the CPE in June
- Academic Affairs' only Strategic Budget Initiative will be the Salary Compensation Model
- Discussed progress of APNA
- Discussed Classification of Institutional Programs (CIP) codes; Will send a link for CIP codes to Chair Sharp for distribution to Senators

Regent's Report:

- Will serve as the faculty representative at the staff regent forum next week; Staff Regent election will be on 23rd and 24th of April
- BOR work session on May 3rd

Senate Actions:

Governance:

Senator Royar presented a slate of nominations for Standing Committee membership for next year. Senator McMichael moved to divide the issue by removing the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (UCC) from the slate and voting on that committee by itself. Senator Bessette seconded the motion. Senator McMichael explained the rationale for the motion. The motion to divide the issue passed.

The Senate approved the slate of nominees for Standing Committees as changed by the above approved motion. The approved nominees are:

Academic Appea	ils		Academic Program Review		
Sara Lindsey	At-large	2012 - 14	Ilsun White	At-large	2012 - 14
Lloyd Jaisingh	At-large	2012 - 14	Paul Taylor	HUM	2012 - 14
Scott Wymer	BUS	2012 - 14	Eric Jerde	S&T	2012 - 14
John Modaff	HUM	2012 - 14			
David Butz	S&T	2012 - 14			

Campus Environment Team/Affirmative Action			Employee Benefits		
Roosevelt Escalante			Janet Ratliff	BUS	2012 - 16
Faculty Promotion	1		Faculty Rights & Responsibilities		
Sylvia Henneberg	At-Large	2012 - 15	Teame Ghirmay	At-large	2012 - 14
April Miller	At-Large	2012 - 15	Kim Sharp	At-large	2012 - 14
Rebecca Katz	HUM	2012 - 15	Marcia Cooper	At-large	2012 - 14
			Judith Stafford	At-large	2012 - 14
Graduate Curriculum Committee			Robert Royar	At-large	2012 - 14
Murray Bessette	BUS	2012 - 14	, ,	J -	
Kitty Hazler	EDU	2012 - 14	Library		
Annie Adams	HUM	2012 - 14	Melissa Brooks	Librarian	2012 - 14
Joyce Stubbs	S&T	2012 - 14	Lola Aagaard-Boram		2012 - 14
30,00 30035	5 61	2012 11	Jennifer Birriel	S&T	2012 - 14
Professional Deve	lonment		Semmer Birrier	50.1	2012 11
Timothy Miller	EDU	2012 - 14	Registration Advis	orv	
Janelle Hare	S&T	2012 - 14	Barbara Lewis	S&T	2012 - 14
Sandy Sumner	Librarian	2012 - 14	Ron Morrison	HUM	2012 - 14
Sandy Summer	Librarian	2012 - 14	KOH MOHISOH	11014	2012 - 14
Research & Creative Productions			Scholarship Appeals and Advisory		
Rajeev Madvannair	S&T	2012 - 14	Ladonna McClave	S&T	2012 - 14
Paul Steele	HUM	2012 - 14	Johnathan Nelson	BUS	2012 - 14
Murray Bessette	BUS	2012 - 14			
Marjorie Shavers	EDU	2012 - 14	Student Disciplina	ry	
			Tammy Platt	S&T	2012 - 14
Service			Randall McCoy	BUS	2012 - 14
Christie Perry	S&T	2012 - 14	-		
Mee-Ryoung Shon	EDU	2012 - 14	Student Media Boa	ard	
Pamela Colyer	Librarian	2011 - 13			
,			President selects	one of the fo	llowing three
Student Life			candidates who ar		
Terry Elliott	BUS	2012 - 14	Vanessa Sammons,		
Ron Skidmore	EDU	2012 - 14	Facult		
				,	
Tenure			President selects	one of the fo	llowing three
Katy Carlson	HUM	2012 - 15	candidates who ar		
Beverly Klecker	EDU	2012 - 15	Communication:	5 14.54.15 , 115.	
Brent Rogers	At-Large	2012 - 15	Jennifer Brimson, Ma	asahito Sugiha	ra or Christopher
Di cite Nogers	, ic Large	2012 13	Schroeder Facult		•
Wellness			Samocaci racult	, 2012	± 1
Itza Zaval-Garrett	HUM	2012 - 14			
Mark Deaton	S&T	2012 - 14			
ויומוג שכמנטוו	Jai	7017 - 14			

Following a statement by Senator Royar regarding the UCC discussion and the election to be held, Senator Chatham moved to suspend the rules to conduct the election for the Planning Committee prior to continuing discussion on the UCC. Senator Berglee seconded the motion. Motion to suspend the rules passed.

Senator Royar and members of Governance distributed ballots for the election to the Planning Committee from the CBPA. Senator McMichael removed herself from the CBPA ballot. Senator Ali Ahmadi was elected to the Planning Committee from CBPA.

Governance distributed ballots for the election to the Planning Committee from the CAHSS. Shondrah Nash was elected to serve on the Planning Committee from CAHSS.

There was considerable discussion regarding the makeup of the UCC. After much discussion, Senator Wymer called the question. Motion seconded and passed to call the question. Chair Sharp asked for a vote on the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee nominees as submitted by the Governance Committee. The nominees to the Undergraduate Committee were approved as submitted. They are:

Janet Rice McCoy	HUM	2012 - 14
Ann Macintosh	S&T	2012 - 14
John Curry	EDU	2012 - 14
Julia Ann Hypes	BUS	2012 - 14

Evaluation:

There was considerable discussion on the 2nd reading of the Student Course Evaluation Instrument. Several friendly amendments were made. Some passed and some did not. After much discussion and concerns about the Instrument, Senator Chatham moved to recommit the Student Course Evaluation Instrument to the Evaluation Committee. Senator Hypes seconded the motion. Discussion regarding the motion to recommit continued. After much discussion, Senator Hypes moved to call the question to end debate and vote on the motion to recommit. Motion seconded and passed. Chair Sharp asked for a vote on recommitting the Student Course Evaluation to the Evaluation Committee. Motion to recommit passed. The Evaluation Committee asked that the Senators provide, in writing, their friendly amendments, suggestions and comments to them prior to the next meeting.

Faculty Welfare and Concerns:

Senator Rathbun presented PAc 29 for 1st reading and explained the major changes. A question and answer session followed. A Senator asked about the outcome of work done by a Faculty Workload Committee from a few years ago, possibly chaired by Dr. Eric Jerde. Senator Rathbun will check into the existence or not of this committee and report back to the Senate.

New Business:

A Senator asked for an update on the status of "Computer Competency?" Chair Sharp asked the representative from the GE Council to provide an update during the Gen Ed Report at the next Senate meeting.

Adjournment: 6:00 p.m.