## Faculty Senate Minutes for Leadership Retreat Hampton Inn Morehead, KY August 18, 2011

#### Call to Order:

Call to order: 8:30 am; Hampton Inn, Morehead, KY

Senators Absent: Cyndi Gibbs, Rebecca Katz, April Miller, Gilbert Remillard

Chair McCormick welcomed all the members to the Senate and the Leadership Retreat.

Senator McCormick and Senator Berglee reviewed the accomplishments of the Senate from last year. The past Executive Council presented the issues for the coming year.

Small Group Breakout Sessions were held to discuss Current Faculty Senate Issues.

- Senator Sharp met with the new Senators to talk about the various Senate committees.
- The past Executive Council met with the returning Senators in small groups to discuss the issues for the coming year.

The Senators came back together to set an agenda for the year.

The Senate began the first regular meeting of the semester.

# Faculty Senate Minutes Regular Meeting Hampton Inn Morehead, KY August 18, 2011

## Call to order:

Call to order: 11:25 pm; Hampton Inn, Morehead, KY

Senators Absent: Cyndi Gibbs, Rebecca Katz, April Miller, Gilbert Remillard

Outgoing Chair, Beverly McCormick thanked the returning members and the Executive Council for all their hard work and assistance during the past year. Chair McCormick welcomed the new members and thanked them for their willingness to serve the faculty and the University.

Outgoing Chair McCormick turned the gavel over to Chair Elect, Kimberly Sharp. Chair Sharp presented Chair McCormick with a plaque and gavel and thanked her for her service to the Faculty Senate.

Chair Sharp spoke to the Senators about the coming year and thanked them for representing their fellow colleagues and departments. The Senators observed a moment of silence for Dr. Terry Irons, a past Senator and Faculty Regent, who passed away this past summer.

Chair Sharp discussed placement on the Senate committees with the Senators.

### **Senate Actions:**

Elections were held for the executive council. The following were elected as college representatives on the executive council: Julia Hypes, Business and Public Affairs; Lee

Faculty Senate Minutes Regular Meeting August 18, 2011 Page 2

Nabb, Education; Robert Royar, Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; and Doug Chatham, Science and Technology. Ann Rathbun was elected to the at-large position.

Members of the newly elected executive council were placed on the ballot for chair elect. Doug Chatham was elected chair elect.

Senator Royal Berglee will serve as the Communications Officer.

Regular meeting ended.

Lunch was served.

The Chair will send a letter to all faculty discussing the priority issues set by the Senate for the year. Senate committees met to elect a vice chair, set meeting times and goals for the year.

The Senator's name cards will be held by the Senate secretary and distributed at each meeting. The Senators thanked the Senate secretary, Janet Skidmore, for her assistance all through the year.

Provost Hughes spoke to the Senators about the coming year.

#### **Announcements:**

The Executive Council met after the regular meeting ended.

Next Meeting: 4:10 pm Thursday, September 1, 2011 Riggle Room of ADUC.

Adjournment: 3:30 pm