Faculty Senate Minutes for Leadership Retreat Hampton Inn Morehead, KY August 19, 2010

Call to Order:

Call to order: 8:30 am; Hampton Inn, Morehead, KY

Senators Absent: Randy McCoy, Gilbert Remillard, Denise Watkins

Chair Berglee welcomed all the members to the Senate and the Leadership Retreat.

Lesia Lennex provided the members with a presentation on: Responsibilities and duties of a Faculty Senator

Doug Chatham made a presentation on: Parliamentary Procedures for Faculty Senate

Bev McCormick explained to the members about the "Structure and Responsibilities of Faculty Senate Committees"

Small Group Breakout Sessions were held to discuss Current Faculty Senate Issues

After the lunch break, Kim Sharp led a forum and discussion of the faculty issues from the Breakout Sessions

After the afternoon break, the Senate began the first regular meeting of the semester.

Faculty Senate Minutes Regular Meeting Hampton Inn Morehead, KY August 19, 2010

Call to order:

Call to order: 2:35 pm; Hampton Inn, Morehead, KY

Senators Absent: Braden Frieder, John Hennen, Randy McCoy, Manuel Probst, Gilbert Remillard, Denise Watkins

Reports:

Chair's Report: Outgoing Chair, Royal Berglee welcomed all new and returning members. The next meeting will be September 2, 2010 in the Riggle Room. The Senate office will be moved to Allie Young Room 17.

The Senator's name cards will be held by the Senate secretary and distributed at each meeting. Chair Berglee and the Senators thanked the Senate secretary, Janet Skidmore, for her assistance all through the year.

Outgoing Chair Berglee turned the gavel over to Chair Elect, Beverly McCormick. Chair McCormick presented outgoing Chair Berglee with a plaque and gavel and thanked him for his service to the Faculty Senate.

Faculty Senate Minutes Regular Meeting August 19, 2010 Page 2

Chair McCormick spoke to the Senators about the coming year and thanked them for representing their fellow colleagues and departments.

Senate Actions:

Elections for the executive council were held. The following were elected as college representatives on the executive council: Julia Hypes, Business and Public Affairs; Kimberlee Sharp, Education; Gary LaFleur, Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; and Verdie Craig, Science and Technology.

Doug Chatham was elected to the at-large position.

Members of the newly elected executive council were placed on the ballot for chair elect. Kimberlee Sharp was elected chair elect.

Chair McCormick appointed Royal Berglee as the Communications Officer.

Announcements:

The Executive Council met after the regular meeting ended.

Next Meeting: 4:10 pm Thursday, September 2, 2010 Riggle Room of ADUC.

Adjournment: 3:30 pm